Skip to content

The Chocolate Chip Cookie

March 7, 2008

  

For several years I have devoted many an hour to creating the ultimate chocolate chip cookie! This is one of those things which, to my mind, requires the exact art of measurement and not necessarily the creative impulse which ever so often defines my work style in the kitchen. And then all the moving up and down that I have done over the year only aggravates the matter. Even the tiniest difference in flour, sugar and butter can make it or break it!

So, since my arrival to Berlin, I have had to start all over again with my CCC recipe. Then 2 years ago when I became more “health” conscious and I had to “go exclusively organic” and reduce my intake of wheat flour, I had to start once again from scratch (due to differences in the flour and sugar).  Now various flour alternatives andsugar alternatives find themselves as regular guests in my kitchen.

 

Oh, sorry I got off-track there for a moment. The CCC recipe… right- So, I usually dislike those mass email forwards. I get them far too often and usually delete them without opening them.  My mother sent me yet another “forward” and as my index finger was descending to press the delete button, my eyes skimmed over word “COOKIES” in the main text. My finger stopped in mid air, andI quickly changed track to open up the mail. I will not go into detail about the story behind it, but the important thing, at least for me, was that at the end of the mail, there was a recipe for CCC. Even though my eyes lids were already very heavy and2 minutes before, I thought that I wanted nothing more than to climb into my warm bed-I found myself compelled right at that moment to try out this recipe.  Not in the morning, but right away!

 

I actually did make a few alterations in consideration of my dietary restrictions (but wrote them down this time!!). About 30 minutes later, once the 2nd batch was taken out of the oven I knew that this would be something special and indeed they were. So, I may have to alter my opinions of  those “mass email forwards.” Thanks Mom!

 

 

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

I have taken this recipe out to be published in my cookbook.

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Helen permalink
    April 17, 2009 9:03 am

    Made these last night and they were super! Thanks for sharing. x

Leave a comment